Facts About Caribbean Premier League T20

Facts About Caribbean Premier League T20

Avatar of Shabnam Dhar

The Caribbean Premier League is well-known as CPL or CPL T20. It is a Twenty20 cricket competition that has been taking place every year in the Caribbean since 2013. Hero MotoCorp sponsors the tournament, that is why its official name is Hero CPL. The Caribbean Premier League belongs to the West Indies. Cricket West Indies (CWI) administers the tournament. Twenty20 is the cricket format. The tournament format is the League and play-offs. The tournament has been garnering immense popularity since its inception. 

Here are many more exciting facts about the Caribbean Premier League T20:

1. Jamaica Tallawahs won the first CPL championship against Guyana Amazon Warriors. 

2. The Caribbean Twenty20 championship gets substituted as the primary twenty20 competition. 

3. The team Antigua Hawksbills isn’t a part of the tournament now. 

4. On 30 July 2013, the first-ever CPL match took place in Barbados. 

5. In 2016, a few CPL matches took place in the US for the first time. 

6. In the cricket championship, the first bowler to take a hat-trick is Rashid Khan. 

7. The fastest CPL century in the 2018 twenty20 season goes to Andre Russell, who took a hat-trick in the same match. It was against Trinbago Knight Riders. 

8. In September 2012, there were plans for the Caribbean Premier League announced by the West Indies Cricket Board (WICB). 

9. The 2013 Caribbean Premier League took place from 29 July to 26 August. 10. Six teams compete against each other in the tournament. Each side has fifteen contracted players with five international cricket players and four cricketers below 23 years of age. 

11. One local and one international franchise player compete in the tournament for each team. 

12. On 14 September, the board held a meeting for decisions on the Caribbean Twenty20 CPL Schedule. 

13. The 2014 tournament was about to take place from 5 July to 10 August, the 2015 competition from 21 June to 26 July, and the 2016 tournament from 29 June to 7 August.

 14. Trinbago Knight Riders is the current champion. 

15. Trinbago Knight Riders (4 titles) is the most successful team. 

16. Lendl Simmons (2436) is the player with the most runs. 

17. Dwayne Bravo (106) is the player with the most Wickets. 

18. The 2020 Caribbean Premier League was about to happen in six countries – Trinidad and Tobago, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Guyana, Barbados, Jamaica, and Saint Lucia. 

19. In June 2020, there was one request to play all the matches in Trinidad put forward due to the pandemic. 

20. There is an agreement between the CPL governing body and the Trinidad and Tobago government. According to the agreement, all players, team personnel, and other tournament personnel will have to be in self-isolation for two weeks at least before making their way to the country. 

21. The CPL T20 tournament is divided into two stages, such as a group stage and a knockout stage. In the group stage, each team plays ten matches overall, where they have to play three at home.  Two semi-finals and a final are included in the playoff stage to decide the tournament’s winner.

Previous Post
What are Some Challenging Online Games like Mobile Legends

What are Some Challenging Online Games like Mobile Legends

Next Post
Impact of Technology on Business

Impact of Technology on Business

Related Posts

Join the family of 35000+ readership